Book Dump: 07/20/2011 or “Why I am a BookHussy”

Posted on July 21, 2011

2


image lovingly swiped from-tatteredcover.com

Dear Lovely Friends,

I think I may have a serious problem. I must confess. I need to admit. I am addicted to buying books. Nothing makes my heart pitter and patter more than a delightful book.  To find motivation or beauty or laughter in a book.I must say..it is addicting.

Unfortunately indeed I am quite notorious at this point for buying books and not completing them. I am a little too friendly in my literary love.  Showering the books with plentiful affection and then losing interest when another beauty bats their pages my way..Shame on me for being a book hussy and spreading my love to so many books. But alas I am what I am and to be truthful…it’s such a pleasant addiction that I may never stop..

My Current Lovers

1.  “Power Thoughts”-Joyce Meyer

Meyer, who I love focuses on teaching yourself to let go of the negative thoughts that prohibit you
from your achievements and teaches you to think positively to achieve your goals.
 

2. ” Living Life as a Thank-you”-

Nina Lesowitz and Mary Beth Sammons

A book based on the idea of gratitude as a way to happiness.

 

3.  “Always Looking Up-The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist” – Michael J. Fox

I have been wanting this book for some time now. Actually ever since I saw a TV special that detailed Michael J. Fox’s journey through various places to find the happiest people on earth.  The segment detailed how he traveled to faroff lands and in these places that have been dubbed some of the happiest places on earth..he did in fact find relief from his disease..if only for the time he remained in that place. Not only moving but also quite intriguing.
 

4.  “Creating Your Best Life-the Ultimate Life List Guide”-

Caroline Adams Miller, Mapp and Dr. Michael B. Frisch

Written by a life coach, this book not only gives you lists
but also research into the background of happiness
and how to motivate yourself to make changes in your life.

 

5.  “Mother Warriors”-Jenny McCarthy

I must say I have wanted to read this for awhile as well.  I will very much read anything by Ms. McCarthy. After reading her initial book regarding autism I was moved more by her book than any in such a long time. As a teacher, this issue holds a special place to me.  And as a person who feels a special connection with this disease it has and will always be a source of intrigue to me. I cannot wait to read it.
Lastly,

6.  “The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar and Six More”- Roald Dahl

I am in desperate need of lovely writing for children. When it is done well it fills  my soul with joy. I have been a lover of Roald Dahl ever since I was a child. I think it was his penchant for silliness and imagination that made my love for the same seem not quite as unusual. That I was simply exceptional and extraordinary  just like him. So I have selected this book of his short stories to hopefully ignite a spark in my literary heart. To remind me why I started writing originally.