Things I love about Thanksgiving!

Posted on November 29, 2008

1


I must say I love every holiday. 

Any reason to celebrate and I am there. 

But there are things I LOVE about Thanksgiving and here they are..

Our Family Picture

DSC_0340 by nn103.

Every year we take pictures of our entire family. It is ALWAYS chaotic and crazy.  The kids are screaming.  The men are complaining.   Everyone is tired of standing still.  But regardless, I love that we have this tradition.  Each year we have different people who come in and out of our lives and I love looking at these family pictures to remember that.

DSC_0378 by nn103.

My immediate family.

DSC_0432 by nn103.

My sisters and I.

 DSC_0416 by nn103.

My brothers and Hubby.

Macy’s Day Parade

 

Every year when I was little we used to get up early and watch the Macy’s Day Parade.  In my family we never had money but we always had traditions.  This is one of those traditions that I still love and look forward to… even as an adult.

One the ol’ bucket list items is to see the Macy’s Day Parade in NY. 

This might also have to do with Miracle on 34th Street being one of my favorite Christmas movies.

 

Martinelli’s Apple Cider

When my sister and I were younger we always made sure we had a bottle of Martinelli’s for “us kids”.  While the parents drank their wine/liquor this was our special treat and our way of feeling grown up.  Even though “us kids” are in our 20’s and 30’s we still love Martinelli’s and make sure it’s there on the table every year.

Black Friday

Yes.  I am one of those crazy people who goes shopping on Black Friday.  Depending on what’s on sale is when I get up.  If there’s nothing particulary good I meander up around 7 or 8.  And regardless of what you have heard..In all of my many years of doing this I have never come across a negative person.  In fact, quite to the contrary, people are always very polite, respectful and friendly on Black Friday. 

 

