Drink Me!

Posted on November 30, 2008

0


 

 HOT and Tasty Holiday SPICED Wine

I have always seen mulling spices at the store but never paid them much thought. 

But I am always looking for something new to try especially for the holidays. 

So I thought what could taste better than a nice hot cup of wine. 

This is what I brought over for Thanksgiving.

Although the hot version was good…I must say I liked the cold version much better.

 

Ingredients

  • 2  (750-milliliter) bottles red wine
  • 2  cups  apple juice
  • 1  cup  sugar
  • 6  tablespoons  mulling spice
  • some sweet vermouth

 

Preparation

 Bring all ingredients to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes.

Pour mixture through a wire-mesh strainer into a pitcher, discarding mulling spices.

Serve wine hot.

 

TRIVIAThe popular phrase “mulling it over,” meaning to consider an idea carefully,

is most likely derived from the slow and deliberate process of creating mulled beverages.

